Connacht Rugby Connacht Eagles

Rossies rested for Connacht Rugby clash with Scarlets

Connacht Rugby Connacht Eagles

Ahead of their final Guinness PRO12 home game this season, Connacht Rugby head coach Pat Lam has made ten changes to his side to face Scarlets at the Sportsground tomorrow night (7:35pm).

Darragh Leader, who this week signed a new deal with his home province, will start on the right wing for his first game in 18 months having returned from long-term injury. On the other wing, Cian Kelleher also returns following a long-term absence this season with injury.

Tom Farrell and Eoin Griffin make up a new centre partnership while Marnitz Boshoff is handed the reins at out-half in place of Kiltoom’s Jack Carty, with Caolin Blade starting in the number nine shirt.

Up front, Ireland international Finlay Bealham shifts to loosehead prop in place of Roscommon town’s Denis Buckley to allow Dominic Robertson-McCoy pack down at tighthead. James Cannon forms a second-row partnership with Andrew Browne who captains the side on Saturday night.

Sean O’Brien and Eoghan Masterson are promoted to the starting back row where they join Jake Heenan.

Commenting on the game, Pat Lam said:

“With Champions Cup being our main focus, the next two games present a great opportunity to prepare for the qualification playoffs in May. It allows us to give guys coming back from long-term injuries a chance to perform against a quality Scarlets side.

“Tomorrow night is our last PRO12 game at home and as always, we will be looking to put in a huge effort for us and our supporters who have been fantastic all season.”

The Connacht Rugby squad to face Scarlets in full is as follows

(Connacht caps in brackets)

15 Tiernan O’Halloran (125)
14 Darragh Leader (51)
13 Tom Farrell (7)
12 Eoin Griffin (77)
11 Cian Kelleher (11)
10 Marnitz Boshoff (2)
9 Caolin Blade (43)

1 Finlay Bealham (80)
2 Dave Heffernan (82)
3 Dominic Robertson-McCoy (9)
4 James Cannon (15)
5 Andrew Browne (153) (captain)
6 Sean O’Brien (37)
7 Jake Heenan (52)
8 Eoghan Masterson (36)

16 Shane Delahunt (26)
17 Denis Buckley (116)
18 JP Cooney (48)
19 Quinn Roux (55)
20 John Muldoon (300)
21 John Cooney (37)
22 Craig Ronaldson (65)
23 Danie Poolman (83)

Kick-off is at 7:35pm and Tickets are available here. The game is also live on TG4.