Roscommon Carrick Golf Club

Carrick Golf Club win Connacht title

Roscommon Carrick Golf Club

Carrick Golf Club won their third Cecil Ewing trophy and the inaugural All-Ireland 4Ball Inter-Club Connacht Title on Saturday last July 23rd.

They defeated Ballinasloe 7-3 in the Final, which was played over two legs, the second leg in Ballinasloe.
Leading 4-1 from the first leg the Carrick lads travelled to Ballinasloe full of confidence, but after 4 holes that confidence was well dented with a reversal of the home score looking likely as Carrick were down in 4 matches and up in one. As the matches progressed the North Zone winners eased their way into the match and by the turn things were looking brighter. Peadar Griffin & Oliver Curran who were first out had reduced their deficit to one hole, Gerry McDermott & Seamus Sweeney were up against it three down, Padraig MacShera & James Connors who were up from early on increased their lead to three, John Moffatt & Declan Loftus who had a bad start worked their way well into the round and by the turn it looked like there was only going to be one winner. Kevin Ward & Colm Griffin who also had a bad start and were three down through 4 holes, scrambled well on 5 & 6 to stay in the match and got it to one down at the turn, won holes 12, 13 & 14 to go two up and wrapped it up on 16 winning 3/2. Curran & Griffin lost 11 & 12 to go three down but battled on to level the match on the 17th to take it up 18 only to loose on 18 one down. McDermott & Sweeney were up against an inform Mark Kelly and couldn’t get a foot hold in the game they lost 5/4. MacShera & Connors who lead from early in their round maintained their lead and finished on the 17th 2/1 to give Carrick their first point of the day. Moffatt & Loftus who slowly reeled their opponents in as the round progressed, a fantastic up & down from Moffatt on the 16th maintained that momentum when he holed a 12 footer for par and a half to maintain the two hole advantage with two to play and it was left to Declan Loftus, a winner on the first Carrick Cecil Ewing win way back in the last century to hole the winning putt on the 17th for an historic win 3-2 on the day & 7-3 overall. Well done to Team Captain Sean Gilmartin who was well on top of things throughout the provincial campaign and now its on to the All-Ireland series in Castlebar in September, we wish the team well.

In other news

Fiachra wins New Ireland Assurance

The New Ireland Assurance sponsored stableford competition played on Sunday 17th July was won by Fiachra Neary with 44 points, a great score which was overshadowed by his 4Ball partner David McDermott’s score of 43 points, 2 under gross 68 for a new course record and second place, that allowed Gordon Kavanagh pick up a rare gross prize with 28 points pipping Keith Duignan on B9. Duignan picked up third prize with 41 points.

Carrick Golf Club British Open Challenge

Barry and Brian Crowe took first & third place in Carrick Golf Club’s British Open Challenge, Barry picked up top prize of €500 thanks to his pick of Sergio Garcia -4, Zach Johnson -1, Dustin Johnson -2, Adam Scott+5, Lee Westwood +1 & Henrik Stenson -20, giving him a total of -21 one ahead of Roberta Keaney (Feely) who pipped Brian Crowe into second place thanks to her first pick of Rory McIlroy -2, over Brian’s first pick of Jason Day +1, both finished on -20.
So another successful Mayor Challenge, thanks to all the people who supported and to the people who played online. Special thanks to David McDermott who organised and inputted all the names of people who played & the scores, well done David.

Carrick Golf Club Summer Draw

We have a 55 inch Sony smart TV up for grabs this summer in our summer draw, tickets are €3 each or two for €5. Tickets on sale in clubhouse.

Captains Prize this weekend

This bank holiday weekend we have Damien Duignan’s Captains prize, a 45 hole marathon which starts on Friday afternoon with 18 hole qualifier, the top 60 from the qualifier will play Sunday morning, with the top 20 from Sunday morning playing a final 9 on Sunday afternoon, followed by presentation of prizes Sunday night at 9.30.
Book online for preferred playing times in qualifier, Sunday mornings tee times will be determined by order in which players finish qualifier, worst scores out first best out last.