Roscommon v Leitrim Connacht Championship Preview


Roscommon and Leitrim will battle it out for a place in the Connacht Senior Football Championship Semi-Final when they meet in Pairc Seán Mac Diarmaida, Carrick on Shannon on Sunday at 3:30pm.

Picture Credit: James Molloy / Connacht GAA

Leitrim are seeking their first Connacht championship win over Roscommon since 2000 when they won by 1-13 to 3-6 in Dr. Hyde Park. The counties have clashed seven times since then, with Roscommon winning six, while there was also a draw (2004).

Last five Championship clashes

2014: Roscommon 1-18 Leitrim 0-13 (Connacht Quarter-Final)
2011: Roscommon 2-12 Leitrim 0-6 (Connacht Semi-Final)
2010: Roscommon 1-13 Leitrim 0-11 (Connacht Semi-Final)
2009: Roscommon 2-13 Leitrim 2-9 (Connacht Quarter-Final)
2004: Roscommon 1-9 Leitrim 0-5 (Connacht Semi-Final) Replay

Team News

Injury hit Roscommon have delayed naming their team until tomorrow night (Friday) at 9pm. They will be without Cian Connolly who sustained a broken jaw against New York, Cathal Compton, who suffered a groin injury in the same game and a number of other players including Ultan Harney, Ian Kilbride, Ronan Stack, Enda Smith, Kevin Higgins and Ciarán Cafferky.

Leitrim announced their team at noon and it sees the return of Emlyn Mulligan to Championship action – he was the team’s top scorer in the Allainz League with 1-25. Glencar Manorhamilton’s Adrian Croal is also back and there are championship débuts for Brendan Flynn, James Rooney and Nevin O’Donnell. The team in full is as follows:

1. Brendan Flynn (Leitrim Gaels),

2. Matthew Murphy (Ballinamore Sean O Heslins),
3. Michael McWeeney (St. Mary’s Kiltoghert),
4. Paddy Maguire (Glencar-Manorhamilton),

5. Sean McWeeney (Aughnasheelin),
6. Gary Reynolds (C) (St. Oliver Plunketts, Dublin),
7. Ronan Gallagher (Mohill),

8. Donal Wrynn (Fenagh St. Caillins),
9. Shane Moran (Ballinamore Sean O Heslins),

10. James Rooney (Glencar-Manorhamilton),
11. Emlyn Mulligan (St. Brigid’s, Dublin),
12. Kevin Conlon (St. Patrick’s Dromahair),

13. Nevin O’ Donnell (Shannon Gaels),
14. Ronan Kennedy (Mohill),
15. Adrian Croal (Glencar-Manorhamilton).

The Winners

Bookmakers Ladbrokes have listed Roscommon as 1/12 favourites to win and have predicted a seven point winning margin for the Rossies.

The winners play Sligo in the Connacht Semi-Final on June 12th; the losers head for the All-Ireland qualifiers on June 18


Terrace/Sideline seating €20
Stand €25
Juveniles €5
Group Passes – €30
€10 Refund for Students and OAPs available at the venue on production of ID.

Tickets are available from the Roscommon GAA Offices – open weekdays from 10am to 4pm, from all SuperValu Stores in the county, from Centra in Strokestown and remaining tickets will be available at the venue.
Gates open at 12:30pm and Sunday’s game will be preceded at 1:30pm by the Connacht GAA Junior Football Championship Final between Mayo and Galway.