44 Roscommon Schools receive Green Flag Award

44 Schools from throughout Roscommon were awarded the Green Flag award by Green-Schools yesterday.

The aim of Green-Schools is to increase students’ and participant awareness of environmental issues through classroom studies and to transfer this knowledge into positive environmental action in the school and also in the wider community. Schools that have successfully completed all the elements of the programme are awarded the ‘Green-Flag’. Green-Schools is operated in Ireland by An Taisce – the National Trust for Ireland, in partnership County Councils and other government bodies.

This year 1,069 schools from across Ireland will receive the award, which must be renewed every two years. The following are the Roscommon Schools who were successful in this years programme and the theme of the programme they have been working on to receive the Green Flag award. Many more Schools in the county are proud holders of the Flag and will be working hard to renew theirs next year.

School Name and Theme

Cloonakilla National School – Biodiversity
Dangan N.S – Biodiversity
Killina N.S – Biodiversity
Lismoil N.S – Biodiversity
S.N. Naomh Ceitheach – Biodiversity
Scoil Mhuire – Biodiversity
St. Mary’s N.S – Biodiversity
St. Michael’s & St. Patrick’s N.S – Biodiversity
Strabraggan N.S – Biodiversity
Ballymurray N.S, – Energy
C.B.S Roscommon – Energy
Castlerea Community School – Energy
Curraghboy N.S – Energy
Gorthaganny N.S – Energy
Scoil Naomh Eoin – Energy
St. Nathy’s College – Energy
Threen N.S – Energy
Ballybay Central N.S – GC Litter and Waste
Boyle Parochial School – GC Litter and Waste
Clonown N.S – GC Litter and Waste
Cloonfad N.S – GC Litter and Waste
Monsignor McCarthy N.S – GC Litter and Waste
Scoil Mhuire – GC Litter and Waste
St. Michael’s School – GC Litter and Waste
St. Patrick’s N.S – GC Litter and Waste
St. Patrick’s National School – GC Litter and Waste
Castlesampson N.S – Litter and Waste
Cloonfour N.S – Litter and Waste
Cloverhill N.S – Litter and Waste
St. John’s National School – Litter and Waste
Brideswell N.S – Travel
Cloonbonniffe N.S – Travel
Feevagh N.S. – Travel
Kiltrustan N.S – Travel
St. Ciaráns N.S – Travel
Tulsk National School – Travel
Athleague N.S – Water
Ballagh National School – Water
Fairymount N.S – Water
Glanduff N.S – Water
Kilronan N.S – Water
Our Lady of Mount Carmel N.S. – Water
Scoil Mhuire Lourdes – Water
St. Ciaran’s N.S – Water