Roscommon Soccer Roscommon and District Football League

Castlerea Celtic edge closer to Premier Crown

Roscommon Soccer Roscommon and District Football League

In a vital top of the table clash at Ballinasloe last seasons Champions Ballinasloe Town were beaten 1 – 0 by Castlerea Celtic and as a result either Castlerea Celtic of Moore United will be crowned champions in a couple of weeks time.

Picture Credit: Roscommon and District Football League

Castlerea Celtic, who are three points better off than Moore, play M D Town in their remaining game while Moore United play Ballinasloe.

Ballinasloe Town started this game well and were the better side for the opening fifteen minutes. The loss through injury of their central defender Des Hope did not inspire confidence in the Ballinasloe supporters and their fears were justified when a mostly young Castlerea Celtic started to gain control. Their young full back James Joyce and Nathan Bligh Peter Farrell Paddy Colloaty and Ronan Curran were particularly impressive while the whole team tackled as if their lives depended on it. Jordan O Leary and Manood Giumma won three free kicks for Ballinasloe Town early in the game but the chances were wasted. At the other end James Joyce volleyed over following good work by Peter Farrell and Nathan Bligh. Luke Tierney had Ballinasloe Town’s best chance of the first half but he headed wide while in the last minute of the half the visitors Damien Bligh was inches wide with his volley.

Darragh Concannon came closest to giving Ballinasloe Town a second half lead but his free kick was over the Castlerea Celtic bar. The deadlock was finally broken with twenty three minutes played in the second half. Niall Higgins won the ball for Castlerea in the middle of the park. He set Nathan Bligh in the clear on the right wing who skipped past Shane Tracey before delivering a perfect cross to the far post. Young Jarlath Geraghty with a superb strike volleyed the ball to the Ballinasloe town net.
Ballinasloe Town battled on but they were reduced to free kicks which were usually claimed by the winner’s keeper Paddy Gunning. Overall it was a very successful day for Pat Donoghue Kevin Mc Namara and the Castlerea Celtic players who are now hot favourites to win their first League Championship for a number of years.


Ballinasloe Town: Aidan Fallon Peter Keighery Tom Kelly Shane Tracey Des Hope David Nee Shane Duffy Mark Duffy Jordan O Leary Darragh Concannon Manood Giumma Mike Madden Luke Tierney .

Castlerea Celtic: Paddy Gunning James Joyce Jack Higgins Cathal Dineen Eoghan O’Connell Padraig Colloaty Nathan Bligh David Fitzpatrick Peter Farrell Ronan Curran Damien Bligh Aaron Keane Niall Higgins Oisin Ward Trevor Kelly Jarlath Geraghty Rory Kelly