Roscommon Under 16 Ladies defeated by Mayo


The Roscommon Under 16 Ladies lost out to old rivals Mayo by 3-8 to 3-14 in Round 2 of Connacht Championship on Wednesday evening last in Ballyhaunis GAA grounds.

Roscommon dominated the early stages but unfortunately didn’t make it count on the scoreboard. The home side dominated the middle section of the first half scoring 1-4 to 0-2, Roscommon points coming from Ciara Corcoran free and Mikaela McHugh from play. The visitors outscored their opponent 3 points to 2 in the final 10 minutes of the half, Roscommon scores coming form Corcoran, Aoife Gavin and Kelly Colgan to leave it 1-6 to 0-5 in favour of the home side at the break.

An early second half rally by Roscommon a goal by Aimee O’Connor and point by Kelly Colgan left the sides level by the thirty fifth minute. But Mayo took a foothold of the game over the next 15 minutes, in particular Amy O’Connor and Maria O’Reilly and Ciara White who scored 2-05 between them the only Roscommon response was a Ciara Corcoran pointed free in the 44th minute to leave it 3-11 to 1-07 after fifty minutes. But the Roscommon girls rallied in the final 10 minutes two quick goals from Sarah Scally and Louise Brady in the fifty third and fifty fourth minutes left it 3-11 to 3-07 with six minutes remaining. Amy O’Connor settled Mayo nerves with a fine point from almost 40 meters out in the fifty seventh minute. Ciara Corcoran brought it back to five with a point from play one minute later. It was Amy O’Connor again who steadied the Mayo ship with two fine points to stretch the Mayo lead to seven by the 58th minute. Roscommon had the final say of the evening a point from play from Aoife Gavin after some patient build up play to leave the full time score Roscommon 3-08 Mayo 3-14.

Roscommon’s next outing is against Leitrim in Kilglass on Wednesday evening next.

1, Marie Kelly, St Faithleahs,
2, Aisling Walsh, St Dominics,
3, Aine Galvin, Padraig Pearses,
4, Aine Mullins, Boyle,
5, Ellen Irwin, St Faithleahs,
6, Shaunna Fleming, Michael Glaveys,
7, Aoibhean Reilly, Padraig Pearses,
8, Michaela McHugh, Kilglass Gaels (Captain) (0-1),
9, Sarah Scally, St Faithleahs, (1-0)
10, Aime O’Connor, St Dominics (1-0),
11, Louise Brady, St Marys (1-0),
12, Kelley Colgan, Clann nA nGael,(0-2)
13, Aoife Gavin, St Dominics (0-2)
14, Ciara Corcoran, St Dominics,(0-3)
15 Heather Payne Padraig Pearses,

16, Emma Silk, St Dominics,
17, Sorcha Casey, St Dominics,
18, Shannon Caulifield, St Croans,
19, Sarah Mc Veigh, St Barry’s,
20, Louise Murray, St Mary’s,
21, Laureen Curran, St Brigids,
22 Kate Nolan, St Brigids,
23 Niamh Madden, Roscommon Gaels,
24 Sinead Glennon, Boyle,
25 Maria Lohan, Four Roads,
26, Clare Sampy, Western Gaels,
27, Sarah Hoare, St Faithleahs,
28, Rachael Gallagher, St Brigids,
29, Blaithin O’Beirne, Kilbride,
30, Chole Finnan, Castlerea,