Roscommon County Council Election Results Roscommon Local Election R368 Environmental Partnership Fund Roscommon Municipal District Speed Limit Boyle Municipal District Roscommon County Council Maura Hopkins Town and Village Renewal Scheme Roscommon Visual Artists pollinator Athlone Municipal District National Poetry Day

Roscommon County Council Election Results 2019

The Roscommon County Council Election took place on May 24th 2019.

18 councillors were elected for a five-year term of office by single transferable vote. The County is divided into three Municipal Districts: Athlone, Boyle and Roscommon and the following were elected:

Athlone Municipal District

Tony Ward (Non-Party)
Ivan Connaughton (Non-Party)
John Naughten (Fine Gael)
John Keogh (Fianna Fáil)
Laurence Fallon (Non-Party)
Donal Kilduff (Non-Party)

Electorate: 15,168 Valid: 9,883 Spoilt: 138 Quota: 1,412 Turnout: 10,021 (66.07%).

Boyle Municipal District

John Cummins (Fianna Fáil)
Valerie Byrne (Non-Party)
Michael Patrick Mulligan (Sinn Féin)
Liam Callaghan (Fine Gael)
Tom Crosby (Non-Party)
Joe Murphy (Fianna Fáil)

Electorate: 18,037 Valid: 10,359 Spoilt: 201 Quota: 1,480 Turnout: 10,560 (58.55%).

Roscommon Municipal District

Pascal Fitzmaurice (Fianna Fáil)
Anthony (Tony) Waldron (Non-Party)
Kathleen Shanagher (Non-Party)
Nigel Dineen (Non-Party)
Orla Leyden (Fianna Fáil)
Marty McDermott (Fianna Fáil)

Electorate: 17,450 Valid: 10,330 Spoilt: 165 Quota: 1,476 Turnout: 10,495 (60.14%).

At the first meeting after the Roscommon County Council Election the following were elected:

Cathaoirleach (June 2019 – June 2020): Pascal Fitzmaurice (Fianna Fáil).
Leas Cathaoirleach (June 2019 – June 2020): Liam Callaghan (Fine Gael).

At the AGM of each Municipal District the following Chairpersons and Vice-Chairpersons were elected:

Athlone Municipal District

Chairperson: Tony Ward (Non-Party)
Vice-Chairperson: Donal Kilduff (Non-Party)

Boyle Municipal District

Chairperson: Joe Murphy (Fianna Fáil)
Vice-Chairperson: Liam Callaghan (Fine Gael)

Roscommon Municipal District

Chairperson: Orla Leyden (Fianna Fáil)
Vice-Chairperson: Kathleen Shanagher (Non-Party)

Read more Current Affairs News here.

Find out more about the Election Process at the Roscommon County Council website.