Western Warriors

Western Warriors celebrate title win

Western Warriors

Western Warriors were crowned LonLeitRos Champions for 2017 in their home court of Strokestown Sports Hall last Friday night.

Western Warriors entered into their last match undefeated, after 13 games and their opposition on the night was Longford Torpedoes. This game was an exemplary display of the high standard of basketball in our region. It ebbed and flowed with fantastic passages of play from both teams throughout this fast paced game. This game came down to the wire and looked like a draw was an inevitable and fair result. Torpedoes had other ideas and scored a basket on the final buzzer to win the game by a single basket. However, it was Warriors night! Warriors were presented with the League trophy after the game, with Ruth Kelly accepting the Cup on behalf of her teammates.

Western Warriors wish to thank Coach Anne-Marie Gunn for all her hard work with the girls and Damien and John in Strokestown Sports Hall for their help all year.

Warriors team: Emer Healy (Ballinameen), Jenny Higgins (Frenchpark), Sheila Gunn (Elphin), Carmel Donelon (Carrick), Ruth Kelly (Ballinameen), Danica Lavin (Frenchpark), Sandra Shanagher (Kilbride), Michelle Jordan (Strokestown), Siobhan Conroy (Boyle), Ciara Ryan (Roscommon), Aideen Kearney (Boyle) and Martina Freyne (Frenchpark).

Warriors now enter into the Top 4 weekend in pole position along with Torpedos, Falcons and Mayo Masters. They play Mayo Masters in the Top 4 Semi-Final on Friday April 21st in The Mall, Longford at 7pm. All support would be greatly appreciated.