Connacht Rugby

Connacht Rugby ring changes for trip to Edinburgh

Connacht Rugby

Picture Credit ©INPHO/James Crombie

Connacht Rugby Head Coach Pat Lam has announced his side for tomorrow’s clash away to Edinburgh and it shows seven changes from the side beaten in Zebre last weekend.

Ireland internationals Tiernan O’Halloran and Kieran Marmion among the players to be drafted into the starting XV. O’Halloran is set to make his 100th PRO12 appearance and has been among the top full-backs in the competition again this season with the most metres gained and more carries than any other player.

With five personnel changes in the backline, Marmion starts at scrum-half and Niyi Adeolokun, having shaken off a niggle, also returns on the right ring. Danie Poolman switches to the left flank while Steve Crosbie makes his second start for the province at out-half. After making his return from injury off the bench last week, Eoin Griffin is handed a starting place and will partner Bundee Aki in the centres.

There is one change to the front row as Dominic Robertson-McCoy replaces Finlay Bealham with Tom McCartney and Roscommon town’s Denis Buckley retaining their places.

Quinn Roux and Andrew Browne remain in situ in the second row with Eoin McKeon moving to blindside flanker as Jake Heenan has recovered from a minor shin injury to start at openside flanker. Captain John Muldoon continues at no.8.

On the bench Shane Delahunt, JP Cooney and Bealham provide the front row cover with James Cannon, Sean O’Brien, Caolin Blade, Jack Carty and Josh Rowland completing the replacements.

Ahead of the clash, head coach Pat Lam said: “This is our third away game in a row and after last week’s game in Italy, we have an opportunity to produce a performance we can be proud of. Although we have been creating numerous opportunities to score, it is all about making sure we take those chances tomorrow night. Edinburgh are always tough, physical opposition and we are looking forward to a big challenge on our first visit to Myreside.”

The Connacht Rugby squad in full to face Edinburgh is as follows:

(Connacht caps in brackets)

15 Tiernan O’Halloran (123)
14 Niyi Adeolokun (54)
13 Eoin Griffin (75)
12 Bundee Aki (57)
11 Danie Poolman (81)
10 Steve Crosbie (2)
9 Kieran Marmion (117)

1 Denis Buckley (114)
2 Tom McCartney (61)
3 Dominic Robertson-McCoy (7)
4 Quinn Roux (53)
5 Andrew Browne (151)
6 Eoin McKeon (103)
7 Jake Heenan (50)
8 John Muldoon (298) (captain)

16 Shane Delahunt (24)
17 JP Cooney (46)
18 Finlay Bealham (78)
19 James Cannon (14)
20 Sean O’Brien (36)
21 Caolin Blade (41)
22 Jack Carty (77)
23 Josh Rowland (2)

Kick off is at 7.35pm and the game is live on TG4.