Maura Hopkins

Maura Hopkins urges Schools not included in latest Deis Programme to act

Maura Hopkins

Fine Gael Senator Maura Hopkins has urged Roscommon and Galway schools which were not included in the latest DEIS-designated school support programme to contact the Department of Education.

Senator Maura Hopkins has stated that she has “received numerous calls last week in relation to several schools not having being included in this new DEIS school support programme. I would strongly advise any school who feels they should be included to contact the Department in find out how decisions were made in relation to specific schools. They can do that by submitting an application to [email protected].”

“The schools to receive the new DEIS status are Scoil Lasair Naofa, Arigna; Cloonbonniffe National School, Strabaggan National School and Scoil Na Heaglaise in Ahascragh. There are over 100 targeted actions in the DEIS programme such as access to the National Educational Psychological Service and a Book Rental Scheme. This access to extra resources will undoubtedly assist children to learn and develop even more in this supported environment. The plan will be implemented this coming September.”

“Overall, while it is positive that that a number of schools in the area have been included in the new DEIS status, I am very disappointed that a number of other schools have not been successful. I have strongly emphasised to Minister Bruton that it is extremely important that DEIS status is kept under review in order to support challenges experienced in other schools not included.”