Roscommon and District Football League Masters Oscar Traynor Cup

Roscommon and District Football League in Oscar Traynor Cup action

Roscommon and District Football League Masters Oscar Traynor Cup

Tomorrow at the Roscommon and District Football League Grounds in Lecarrow the League’s representative side will take on the Cavan/Monaghan League in the last sixteen of the Oscar Traynor Cup.

By Vincent Brooks
Before the Christmas break the Roscommon and District Football League beat the Mayo League 2-1 at Lecarrow with a Darragh Concannon goal and an own goal deciding the game. The team had an equally impressive 0 – 0 draw away to the Galway League. Last season’s Oscar Traynor Cup holders Clare were the next opposition and the Roscommon and District league needed a draw to be sure of a place in the knock out stages. They were full value for the 1–1 draw with the home side getting a goal to level the game near the end. Ronan Curran scored the all-important goal at Ennis

Like the Roscommon and District Football League the Cavan/Monaghan League finished second in their group. They beat the Donegal League 2-1 away in Donegal. Their next game was at home to the Sligo/Leitrim League and they were comfortable 5 – 2 winners. The only stain on their copy book was their last game away to the Inishowen League where they suffered a humiliating 7 – 3 defeat.

The Roscommon and District League Manage Enda Concannon and his assistant Sean Mc Donnell will be missing Andy Nevin and Ethan Keogh who have signed for Athlone Town since the last game. They have some injury concerns regarding other players and may have to call up replacements.

It’s going to be a difficult game for the Roscommon and District Football League team but they can take heart from their previous performances and the fact that they seem to get better with every game. There is a nice blend of youth and experience in the side. Players such as Des Hope Joe Woods Ronan Curran Dominick Bligh and Greg Grogan will be a steadying influence on the side while younger player like Cormack Clogher, Peter Farrell, Joe Hunt and Alan Duffy will be looking forward to the big occasion.
It’s not going to be easy but the feeling in the Roscommon and District Football League is that the team will advance to the Quarter-Finals. Kick Off, in Lecarrow, is at 6.30pm.


Joe Hunt (Ahascragh United) Noel Fallon, Andy Higgins (Dysart) Des Hope, Joe Woods, Cormack Clogher, Garry Canavan ( Ballinasloe) Darragh Concannon, Enda Kenny, Alan Duffy (Moore United) Ronan Curran, Dominic Bligh, Jack Higgins, Peter Farrell (Castlerea Celtic) Tommie Hurley (St Johns Athletic) John Connaughton, Gregory Grogan ( Ballymoe F C)
Manager Enda Concannon
Assistant Manager Sean Mc Donnell, Coaches Lloyd Kelly Adrian Carberry.