Connacht Rugby Connacht Eagles

Rossies in Connacht Rugby Eagles squad for Ospreys trip

Connacht Rugby Connacht Eagles

Head coach Mossy Lawler has named his Connacht Rugby Eagles side ahead of round 4 of the British & Irish Cup and the trip to play Ospreys Select on Sunday.

There are seven personnel changes from the starting XV that lined out against the same side in the home fixture just six days ago.

This week’s squad is made up of three senior, 12 academy, four sub academy and three players from club land.

Colm de Buitlear, Jack Harrington and Conor Lowndes are all introduced to the back line while last week’s double try scorer Jordan Conroy of Buccaneers RFC is retained on the left wing.

Up front, Jack Dineen and Pat O’Toole make up an all-Academy front row with Saba Meunargia.
Cian Romaine, whose mother hails from Ballyforan, joins Captain Danny Qualter in the second row while Marc Kelly joins senior players Rory Moloney and James Connolly in the back row.

Commenting on the upcoming game, Mossy Lawler said:

“We were extremely disappointed with the way we let last weekend’s game slip at the end. We had enough of the ball but we just made far too many errors. The great thing about these back-to-back fixtures is that you get a chance to test yourself against the same opposition straight away and look to right the wrongs of last week. We know we created opportunities at the Sportsground, but we need to execute them now in Wales on Sunday”

Connacht Rugby Eagles team in full to face Ospreys Select, at Aberavon RFC, on Sunday at 2pm is as follows:

(Connacht senior caps and affiliated club in brackets)

15 Matthew Byrne (Galwegians RFC)
14 Colm de Buitlear (Corinthians RFC)
13 Jack Harrington (Young Munster RFC)
12 Ed O’Keeffe (Galwegians RFC)
11 Jordan Conroy (Buccaneers RFC)
10 Luke Carty (Buccaneers RFC)
9 Conor Lowndes (Buccaneers RFC)

1 Jack Dinneen (2) (Galwegians RFC
2 Pat O’Toole (Corinthians RFC)
3 Saba Meunargia (2) (Buccaneers RFC)
4 Cian Romaine (Buccaneers RFC)
5 Danny Qualter (captain) (14) Buccaneers RFC)
6 Marc Kelly (Galwegians RFC)
7 Rory Moloney (1) (Buccaneers RFC)
8 James Connolly (21) (Corinthians RFC)

16 Shane O’Hehir (Sligo RFC)
17 Jason East (Galwegians RFC)
18 Cillian Gallagher (Sligo RFC)
19 Stephen McVeigh (Buccaneers RFC)
20 Stephen Kerins (Corinthians RFC)
21 Conor McKeon (2) (Buccaneers RFC)
22 Joe Murphy (Corinthians RFC)