clann na ngael

Clann na nGael GAA update November 22nd

clann na ngael
Junior B Championship Final: Clann na nGael 2-9 Roscommon Gaels 2-6

Clann won the Junior B County Final in a trilling game in Johnstown last Friday night.
Adding to previous wins in this division of 2003, 2006, 2009, 2011 and 2013, this was a sweet one due to the fact that Clann were the only 3rd team in this competition playing other clubs 2nd teams. Roscommon Gaels were favourites to take this match but Clann upped the efforts from the very start putting points on the board and kept pressure on a strong Gaels defence.

David Griffin was again in fine form using his fast pace and put excellent scores together, his tally of 1-2 in the first half was impressive. Martin Keena opened with a long range point and Eddie McLoughlin got on the scoring sheet with a opportunist goal. Gaels stuck in there and came back well to leave the scores at half time Clann 2-3 to Roscommon Gaels 1-4.

Clann’s captain Daniel Harney opened the second half with a well taken point followed by a brilliant long range point from Daragh Glynn who had a fine game. Gaels put the pressure on with a long range fisted goal to close the gap. Clann introduced subs Paul Dunning, Ian Cooney, Eoin Hannon and Fergal Shine who all had an immediate impact. Clann held out to severe pressure in the 7 minutes of added time to win by 3 points.

Full credit must go to Player/Manager Ray Fallon who made this team function and play to a very high standard. This was the first county medal for some of the team, especially Ian Cooney one of the veterans who won his first medal having played for other clubs in the past. Congrats to this team who lifted the spirits of the home followers. Captain Daniel Harney received the Cup on behalf of the team. Credit must go also to our field committee PJ O’Brien, Gerry Shine and Tommy Fallon for preparing the pitch and having it in such good condition this late in the year.

Squad: Seamie McManus, Shane Gavin, Liam Og Naughton, Ray Fallon, Gearoid Lennon, Cormac Harney, Darragh Lennon, Darragh Glynn, Sean Fallon, Eddie McLoughlin, Martin Keena, Aaron Shine, Patrick O’Brien, Daniel Harney, David Griffin, Mickey Shine, Padraig Kelly, Paul Dunning, Ian Cooney, Sean McManus, Ian Wall, Peter Foley, Fergal Shine, Eoin Hannon.

The Adult board AGM will be held on Friday 25th November at 8:00pm in the clubhouse.

All existing and new members are invited to attend the meeting. If you are interested in taking up a Manager/Selector/Admin position for 2017, please contact the Club Secretary at [email protected] to express your interest.

Clann na nGael Lotto

The draw took place in the Grove on Sunday 20th of November with a jackpot of €9,000.
The numbers drawn were 1, 6, 10, 26. No winner, Match 3 wins €200:
Winner (Seller)
Gerry McGuinness (Brian Fallon).
Next week’s jackpot is €9,200 and the draw will be in Shines. Thanks to everyone who supports Clann’s Lotto every week.

Clann na nGael Shop now online

Our Shop is now online with a wide range of O’Neills gear to purchase. The shop can be accessed via or directly by visiting

Clann na nGael Online

Twitter: ClannGAA
Instagram: ClannGAA
Facebook: ClannGAA