Roscommon GAA Fixtures Roscommon GAA Results St Brigids

St Brigids and Padraig Pearses set up County Final Meeting

Roscommon GAA Fixtures Roscommon GAA Results St Brigids

Wins for St Brigids and Padraig Pearses in blustery conditions today set up a repeat of the 2012 Senior Football Championship Final.

In the first Semi-Final three late Padraig Pearses points proved the difference as they defeated Western Gaels by 0-13 to 0-10 in Elphin. The sides were level on six point apiece at half-time and the second half proved to be equally cagey.
Padraig Pearses raced into a three point lead after six minutes of the second half, but only scored once in the 23 minutes that followed. Western Gaels edged their way back into the game and the sides were level again, 10 each, in the 52nd minute. The scoreboard remained that way until Ronan Daly, Niall Daly and Hubert Darcy scored in injury time to secure the win.

Padraig Pearses:

Adam McManus; David Murray, Anthony Butler, Mark Richardson; Ronan Daly 0-3, Niall Carty, Conor Daly; Niall Daly 0-1, Cathal Og Sullivan; Shane Carty, Aaron Feehily 0-4, Shane Dolan; Hubert Darcy 0-4, Tom Butler, Conor Payne 0-1.

Western Gaels

Padraig Cummins; Sean Conry, Michael Higgins, Sean Mc Dermott; Barry Creighton, Donal Ward, Ciaran Cafferky 0-2; Niall Murray, John Duffy 0-1; Cathal Cregg 0-2, Niall Higgins 0-3, James McDonnell; Kevin Higgins 0-2, Derek Moran, Finbarr Cregg.

Later, in Strokestown, St Brigids enjoyed a comfortable 4-11(23) to 2-8(14) win over Boyle. Playing with the aid of the breeze the former All-Ireland Club Champions led by 1-4 to 0-1 after 20 minutes; the goal coming from Brian Stack. Sean Purcell pointed in the 25th minute, adding to Enda Smith’s opener, but Senan Kilbride and Garvan Dolan responded just before the break. At Half-time it stood at St Brigids 1-6 Boyle 0-2.
St Brigids began the second half by blitzing Boyle. Senan Kilbride found the net in the 31st minute with Karol Mannion doing the same in the 33rd minute and they missed a penalty in the 32nd. The fourth goal came in the 44th minute with substitute Jack McDonnell doing the damage. At that stage they were 4-8 to 0-3 ahead but then complacency set in. Boyle outscored St Brigids by 2-5 to 0-3 in the remaining 15 minutes but it was too little too late. Final score St Brigids 4-11 Boyle 2-8.

St Brigids

Shane Mannion; Niall McInerney, Darragh Donnelly, Darragh Sheehy; Ronan Stack, Mark Daly, Eoin Sheehy 0-1; Garvan Dolan 0-1, Ian Kilbride 0-1; Conor Murray, Darren Dolan 0-1, Cathal McHugh 0-2; Karol Mannion 1-1, Senan Kilbride 1-1, Brian Stack 1-1.
Scoring subs: John Cunningham 0-1, Jack McDonnell 1-0, David Cunniffe 0-1


Tadgh Lowe; Gareth Gilmartin, Michael Hanmore, Cian Beirne; Dylan East 0-1, Sean Purcell 0-2, Tadgh McKenna; Kieran Cox, Roch Hanmore 0-1; Killian Cox, Enda Smith 0-1, Darren O’Connor 0-1; Cian McKeon 1-2, Jim Suffin; David Callaghan.
Subs used: Donie Smith

The Final

Padraig Pearses will take on St Brigids in the Final on Sunday October 23rd in Kiltoom at 3:30pm. It will be preceded by a Minor Final at 1:30pm.