Connacht Rugby Connacht Eagles

Carty and Qualter in Connacht Rugby Team to face Ospreys

Connacht Rugby Connacht Eagles
The Connacht Rugby team to face Ospreys in round 2 of the Guinness PRO12 has been named and features four changes to the side that lined out at the Sportsground last weekend.

From a Roscommon perspective there is good news as Jack Carty and Danny Qualter retain their places.

Ireland internationals Tiernan O’Halloran and Kieran Marmion come into the backline with the Galway-born fullback making his first appearance for Connacht since his Ireland debut in South Africa three months ago.

Ronan Loughney replaces Roscommon’s Denis Buckley, who missed the game following a Concussion. Academy graduate James Connolly starts alongside Eoin McKeon and captain John Muldoon in the back row.

Forwards Dominic Robertson-McCoy and Rory Moloney are both in line to make their Connacht debuts from the bench tomorrow while Danie Poolman is included among the replacement backs.

Commenting on the team selection and the upcoming game, head coach Pat Lam said:

“Following a few injuries and knocks from last week, we’ve obviously made some changes to the starting team for tomorrow. With Caolin (Blade) and Cian (Kelleher) unable to train fully all week, it’s fortunate that we’re able to bring in the experience of Connacht centurions Kieran (Marmion) and Tiernan (O’Halloran).

“Ospreys will be another big challenge for us and will come here determined and confident after their impressive win over Zebre in round 1. It’s been a tough week with a lot of honesty and learnings for us as a team. I have no doubt that with another game under our belt, we will see a big improvement tomorrow.”

The game, at the Sportsground, Kicks off at 7.35pm and is live on TG4 and S4C.

The Connacht Rugby Squad in full is

team to face Ospreys, Saturday 10th September, the Sportsground, 7:35pm

15 Tiernan O’Halloran
14 Niyi Adeolokun
13 Eoin Griffin
12 Bundee Aki
11 Matt Healy
10 Jack Carty
9 Kieran Marmion

1 Ronan Loughney
2 Tom McCartney
3 Finlay Bealham
4 Ultan Dillane
5 Danny Qualter
6 Eoin McKeon
7 James Connolly
8 John Muldoon (captain)

16 Dave Heffernan
17 Dominic Robertson-McCoy
18 JP Cooney
19 Lewis Stevenson
20 Rory Moloney
21 Caolin Blade
22 Shane O’Leary
23 Danie Poolman

Injured/Unavailable: Denis Buckley, Nathan White, Quinn Roux, Andrew Browne, Ben Marshall, Nepia Fox-Matamua, Jake Heenan, Sean O’Brien, Eoghan Masterson, John Cooney, Stephen Kerins, Conor Lowndes, Craig Ronaldson, Marnitz Boshoff, Rory Parata, Peter Robb, Darragh Leader, Cian Kelleher, Ciaran Gaffney.