Wheelchair Hurling

Interprovincial Wheelchair Hurling comes to County Roscommon.

Wheelchair Hurling

The Sports Hall of Abbey Community College, Boyle, plays host to the fourth and final round of the M.Donnolly GAA Inter-Provincial Wheelchair Hurling League on Saturday 27th August.

This is the first time ever that an All-Ireland Wheelchair Hurling event will be hosted in County Roscommon. The opening ceremony commences at 10.15 am and the games begin at 11am. Admission is free and All are welcome to attend. The Connacht GAA Wheelchair Hurling team are hoping for strong home support to help them in their quest to leapfrog Ulster, and the others, in the league table.

So far the Inter-Provincial Wheelchair Hurling League has seen blitzes hosted in Belfast (Ulster), Cork (Munster) and Dundalk (Leinster), with the final round this Saturday 27th August, in Abbey Community College, Boyle. Reigning champions Ulster are in pole position to take honours again this season, with all three other Provinces in hot pursuit.

The Connacht team have been in training under the expert guidance of coaches Adrian Hession (Mayo), Thaigh Morley (Mayo), Tim Hynes (Sligo) and Cathal Cregg (Roscommon).

Connacht GAA are sponsors of this event which sees teams and players travelling from Ulster, Munster and Leinster as well as Connacht, competing for Provincial honours.

The Connacht GAA Wheelchair Hurling panel is as follows:

Fergal Mahon (Western Gaels – Roscommon)
Sarah Cregg (Western Gaels – Roscommon)

Liam O’Boyle (Knockmore – Mayo)
Peter Egan (Kilmovee – Mayo)

Pat Carty (Tourlestrane – Sligo)
Stephen Melvin (Owenmore Gaels – Sligo)
Aidan Hynes (Calry – Sligo)

Shane Curran (Moycullen – Galway)
Tom Fleming (Charlestown – Mayo)
Val Leneghan (Charlestown – Mayo)

For further information on Wheelchair Hurling in Connacht contact Adrian Hession on 087 2450566.