Eugene Murphy Tarmonbarry Portiuncula

Eugene Murphy TD raises concerns over Boyle Primary Care Centre

Eugene Murphy Tarmonbarry Portiuncula
Fianna Fail Deputy for Roscommon/Galway Eugene Murphy has raised concerns about the possibility of the Boyle Primary Care Centre being moved into the North Western Division.

Deputy Murphy said that concerns had been raised through his constituency office that the Boyle based primary care centre may be about to come under the remit of a different community health organisation.

Boyle Primary Care Centre currently operates under the CHO Area 2, Galway, Mayo and Roscommon but Deputy Murphy understands that it is currently being mooted to move the care centre in Boyle under the North West Division.

“I am deeply concerned at the implications which such a move could mean for patients and staff alike –we could end up with the situation whereby certain issues are dealt with in Boyle but patients may then to asked to attend Sligo or further afield for different health issues which would be totally inconvenient for people in the Boyle catchment area. I would be totally opposed to any such move and I am seeking urgent clarification from the Minister for Health and the HSE in relation to the matter,” said Deputy Murphy.

Monksland Primary Care Centre

Meanwhile Deputy Murphy said that he has received assurances from the Minister for Health Simon Harris that no decision has been made to transfer the Monksland primary care centre into County Westmeath. Deputy Murphy raised the matter with Minister Simon Harris through a recent parliamentary question.

In response to the query in relation to the Monksland Primary Care Centre, Minister Harris said: “It is very important to stress that, from the point of view of people using the wide range of services provided by the HSE at community level, the management structures which overlay these should be of little or no consequence. The objective is to ensure that services are responsive to people’s needs and enable them to receive a joined-up service that results in the most favourable health outcomes for patients.

The HSE has indicated that Monksland Primary Care Centre is currently located in CHO Area 2 (Mayo/Galway/Roscommon) and that no decision has been made to transfer this Centre to CHO Area 8.”

Deputy Eugene Murphy reiterated his opposition to any attempt to move the Monksland Primary Care Centre in County Westmeath.