Roscommon v Sligo Connacht Championship Preview


Roscommon and Sligo will battle it out for a place in the Connacht Senior Football Championship Final when they meet in Dr Hyde Park this Sunday at 4pm.

Picture credit: Ramsey Cardy / SPORTSFILE

Roscommon will be aiming to put the ghost of last years 0-13 to 1-14 defeat behind them. Sligo meanwhile, will be attempting to reach successive Connacht Senior Finals for the first time, in what could be the last game played on the current Dr Hyde Park pitch.

Team News

The Roscommon team has just been announced and the starting 15 shows one change from the team that beat Leitrim in Carrick on Shannon last month. Senán Kilbride returns to replace Diarmuid Murtagh who is unavailable due to injury.

Only six of last year’s starters against Sligo will start on Sunday; They include Sean Mc Dermott who plays his 151th game for Roscommon, Neil Collins, Niall Daly, Cathal Cregg, Senán Kilbride and Captain Ciaráin Murtagh.

Seven players Ronan Stack, Ciarain Cafferkey, Cian Connolly, Ian Kilbride, Ultan Harney, Diarmuid Murtagh and Cathal McHugh were not considered for selection due to injury. The panel in full is as follows:

1 Geoffrey Claffey, Castlerea St. Kevins.

2 Sean McDermott,Western Gaels.
3 Neil Collins, St. Brigids, Castleknock.
4 Niall McInerney, St Brigids.

5 John McManus, Roscommon Gaels.
6 Sean Purcell, Boyle.
7 David Murray, Padraig Pearses.

8 Niall Daly, Padraig Pearses.
9 James McDermott, Roscommon Gaels.

10 Fintan Cregg, Elphin.
11 Ciaran Murtagh (C), St. Faithleachs.
12 Conor Devaney, Kilbride.

13 Senan Kilbride, St. Brigids.
14 Cathal Cregg, Western Gaels.
15 Donie Shine, Clann na nGael.

16 Darren O’Malley, Michael Glaveys.
17 Cathal Compton, Strokestown.
18 Cathal Shine, Clann na nGael.
19 David Keenan, St Barrys.
20 Donie Smith, Boyle.
21 Enda Smith, Boyle.
22 Fergal Lennon, Clann na nGael.
23 Niall Carty, Padraig Pearses.
24 Niall Kilroy, Fuerty.
25 Sean Mullooly, Strokestown.
26 Thomas Corcoran, Strokestown.

Sligo announced their team at noon and Brian Egan from the Tourlestrane team makes his championship debut at corner forward. The team also sees the return of Adrian McIntyre at Centre back and Charles Harrison at wing forward. Sligo will be bidding for successive Connacht Championship finals for the first time in their history, having defeated Roscommon at the same stage of the competition last year. Their starting 15 in full is as follows:

1. Aidan Devaney (Calry/St.Joseph’s).

2 Daniel Maye (Tubbercurry).
3 Kevin McDonnell (Castleconnor).
4 Eoin Flanagan (St. John’s).

5 Keelan Cawley (Coolera Standhill).
6 Adrian McIntyre (Tourlestrane).
7 Brendan Egan (St. Vincent’s).

8 Niall Murphy (Coolera Standhill).
9 Cian Breheny (St. Marys).

10 Neil Ewing (Drumcliffe Rosses Point).
11 Mark Breheny Marys captain (St. Marys).
12 Charlie Harrison (St. Johns).

13 Adrian Marren (Curry).
14 Pat Hughes (Geevagh).
15 Brian Egan (Tourlestrane).

Last five meetings

2015: Sligo 1-14 Roscommon 0-13 (Connacht semi-final)
2010: Roscommon 0-14 Sligo 0-13 (Connacht final)
2007: Sligo 0-13 Roscommon 2-5 (Connacht semi-final)
2004: Roscommon 2-16 Sligo 1-15 (Connacht quarter-final) Replay
2004: Roscommon 1-10 Sligo 0-13 (Connacht quarter-final) Draw

2016 form

Roscommon have won two games in the Connacht championship, beating New York 1-15 to 0-17 in Gaelic Park and Leitrim by 1-21 to 0-11 in Carrick-on-Shannon. Finished third in Division 1, before losing the semi-final to Kerry, leaving them with an overall record of: Played 8, Won 4, Lost 4.

Sligo are having their first championship outing, having finished fifth in Division 3, winning three, losing three and drawing one of seven games.

The Winners?

Bookmakers Ladbrokes have listed Roscommon as 1/6 favourites to win and have predicted a five point winning margin for the Rossies. It’s interesting to note that There hasn’t been more than four points between the counties in any of their last
eight championship games.

The winners play either Galway or Mayo in the Connacht Final on July 10th; the losers head for the All-Ireland qualifiers on July 2nd.


Terrace/Sideline seating €20
Stand €25
Juveniles €5
Group Passes – €30
€10 Refund for Students and OAPs available at the venue on production of ID.

Tickets are available from the Roscommon GAA Offices – open weekdays from 10am to 4pm, from all SuperValu Stores in the county, from Centra in Strokestown and remaining tickets will be available at the venue.