Moore United Roscommon Soccer Roscommon and District Football League

Moore United capture Premier Division Cup

Moore United Roscommon Soccer Roscommon and District Football League

Moore United won their first Premier trophy in fourteen years when the beat Ballymoe 3–0 at the League grounds Lecarrow in the final of the Premier Division Cup competition.

The winners finished second in the Premier Division Championship and this was their last hope for silverware this season. On a warm and sunny day the teams gave their all through out the ninety minutes. Moore started brightly and Andy Nevin forced Michael Kenny into an early save. Gradually Ballymoe came more into the game and Gregory Grogan and James Connaughton came close to giving them a lead. A thrilling run by Ross Timothy caused panic in the Moore defence but Enda Kenny cleared the danger at the expense of a corner kick. Alan Duffy came closest for Moore mid way through the half but his shot was wide of the target. Andy Nevin beat his marker before sending the ball across the face of the Ballymoe goal but there was nobody to apply the finishing touch. All the drama was reserved or the second half. Moore dominated the early play and won three corner kicks in quick succession. The third which was taken by Mark Duignan evaded everyone before reaching the far post where full back Dean Muldoon was adjudged to have handled the ball.
Referee Conor Fitzgibbons awarded the penalty kick and sent off the misfortunate Muldoon. Mark Nicholson converted the spot kick.
With seventeen played in the second half Mark Nicholson added a second for Moore United with a neat volley. The Moore midfielder Michael Collins was sent off with twenty eight played in the second half but by then there was no way back for a tiring Ballymoe side.

Just as the game approached time added on substitute Eric Molloy was taken down Keith Muldoon who was sent off. Molloy scored direct from the resultant free kick. Afterwards Niall Kelly presented the Premier Division Cup to the Moore United Captain Enda Kenny.

This young and talented Ballymoe side must pick themselves up as they face Castlerea Celtic next Saturday in the Challenge Cup final.

Moore United:
David Keenan, Declan Duffy, Mark Duignan, Enda Kenny, David Harrington, Andy Nevin, Michael Collins, Mark Nicholson Alan Duffy Cathal O Sullivan Eric Molloy John Hession Shane Mulvey Paul Kelly Kevin Kenny William Shine Adam Mc Manus.

Ballymoe F C
Michael Kenny Dean Muldoon Keith Keenan John Connaughton James Connaughton Paul Hynes Greg Grogan Aidan Brogan Keith Muldoon Daniel Malone Ross Timothy Aidan Collins Mark Kilcommins Damien Conboy Jason Tarmey Niall Collins David Ward.