Roscommon Under 16 Ladies cruise to Connacht B title

Connacht U-16 Championship B Final: Roscommon 6-28 Leitrim 2-2

The Cox’s Steakhouse Dromod Sponsored Roscommon Under 16 Girls strolled through Connacht B Final v Leitrim in sun-drenched Croghan on Wednesday evening last. This game was over as a contest as early as the fifth minute as Roscommon ran riot and chalked up 2-03 to 0-00 lead, the also had what looked like a perfectly legitimate goal disallowed in the third minute. Leitrim did respond with a goal from the penalty spot in the on the quarter hour mark this was quickly followed by a point from play. It was Roscommon who dominated the remainder of the half as the went on to kick a further 1-00 to Leitrim’s point to leave it 3-13 to 1-02 at the break. Roscommon pressed home their advantage in the second half and had run into a 3-21 to 1-02 lead by the fortieth minute. This gave Ollie Colgan and his management team the opportunity to empty the subs bench. Roscommon went on to kick a further 3-07 in the final quarter Leitrim’s only response was a goal from play in the fifty third minute, to leave the full time score Roscommon 6-28 Leitrim 2-02.

Roscommon are now through to the All-Ireland semi-final in early July where they will face either Waterford or Tipperary.

Team Captain Mikaela McHugh accepted the shield from Connacht Treasurer Jimmy Murphy
Player of the match was presented to Roscommon’s Aimee O’Connor. Aimee scored 2-07 while also contributing to a number of other scores.


Team : Marie Kelly ,Sarah Hoare , Aine Galvin 1-0, Aine Mullins, Ellen Irwin, Shauna Fleming, Aoibheann Reilly, Mikaela McHugh (Capt) 0-2, Ciara Corcoran 0-3, Sinead Glennon, Kelley Colgan 0-3, Aimee O’Connor 2-7 , Aoife Gavin 0-3, Shannon Caulfield 1-3, Louise Brady 1-6
Subs used :Lauren Curran 1-0  for K Colgan, Sarah McVeigh  for S Hoare, Claire Sampey for A Gavin, Sorcha Casey for A Mullins, Rachel Gallagher for S Glennon

Other Panel Members: Heather Payne , Sarah Scally  , Emma Silke, Louise Murray, Walshe, Niamh Madden , Maria Lohan , Kate Nolan, Blaithin  O’ Beirne ,Chloe Finan.

Management: Ollie Colgan, Sharon Curran, Jenny Higgins, Laura Flemming & Dylan Colgan. Physio: Derek Casserley.