Connacht Rugby

Connacht team to face Glasgow Warriors announced

Connacht Rugby

Following this morning’s Captain’s Run, Connacht Head Coach Pat Lam named his match day squad to take on Glasgow Warriors in the sold out Guinness PRO12 play-off semi-final tomorrow evening at the Sportsground

(Kick Off: 6.30pm – live on SKY Sports, TG4 and BBC Scotland).

Galway man Eoin McKeon comes into the back row and is the only change to the starting XV that played against the same opposition in round 22 a fortnight ago.

John Muldoon captains the side from the base of the scrum in what will be the Portumna man’s 274th game for the province.

The back line remains unchanged with try scorer from the last game Bundee Aki and Ireland international Robbie Henshaw retained in midfield. April Player of the Month Niyi Adeolokun and the league’s top try scorer Matt Healy line out on the wings.

Andrew Browne is brought into the match day squad and joins Sean O’Brien among the replacement forwards.

Commenting on the game, Pat Lam said “We are under no illusions when it comes to the challenge we face against the defending champions Glasgow who are stacked with players with plenty of experience of test match and knock out rugby. We know they will be much stronger than they were two weeks ago but if we channel our physicality and the excitement into our game, we will be able to meet that challenge head on.

“It’s an exciting time for everyone involved in Connacht Rugby as we head into our first ever PRO12 semi-final. The reason we’ve had such a good record at home this season is the special atmosphere generated by our supporters and we’re all looking to give them another special day to remember in our last home game of the season.”

Connacht team to face Glasgow Warriors, Saturday 21st May, the Sportsground, 6:30pm

15 Tiernan O’Halloran
14 Niyi Adeolokun
13 Robbie Henshaw
12 Bundee Aki
11 Matt Healy
10 AJ MacGinty
9 Kieran Marmion

1 Ronan Loughney
2 Tom McCartney
3 Finlay Bealham
4 Ultan Dillane
5 Aly Muldowney
6 Eoin McKeon
7 Jake Heenan
8 John Muldoon (Captain)

16 Dave Heffernan
17 JP Cooney
18 Rodney Ah You
19 Andrew Browne
20 Sean O’Brien
21 John Cooney
22 Shane O’Leary
23 Peter Robb