Roscommon-Galway Branch of Young Fine Gael established


A group of young people from across Roscommon and East Galway met in Gullane’s Hotel Ballinasloe last week and established a Young Fine Gael branch for the newly established constituency of Roscommon-Galway.

The meeting was attended by newly elected Senator Maura Hopkins and Young Fine Gael organisers David McLaughlin and Keelan Moran, who travelled to Ballinasloe from Donegal and Westport respectively to be present for the launch.

Speaking in Gullane’s, newly elected Chairman Alan Harney highlighted how heartening it was to see such a crowd in attendance at a time when there was a perception that young people were uninterested and disengaged from politics. He highlighted the ambitious plans the branch have for the future, and stated how promising it that members of YFG in Roscommon Galway play such a central role electoral politics in the region.

Along with Chair, the members elected were Niall Curley as Secretary, Senator Maura Hopkins as Vice-Chair, Róisín Finan as Treasurer and Laura Mannion as PRO.

Anyone interested in joining the branch, is encouraged to contact Alan Harney via [email protected]