Roscommon Allianz League Fixtures Roscommon team

Late Roscommon rally not enough to defeat Dubs

Roscommon Allianz League Fixtures Roscommon team

Roscommon narrowly missed out on causing another upset in Carrick on Shannon earlier when they suffered 1-12 to 1-13 defeat to Dublin in today’s final round game in Division One of the Allianz Football League.

Picture credit: Oliver McVeigh / SPORTSFILE

The designated home side outscored the reigning League and All-Ireland Champions Dublin by 1-9 to 1-4 in the second half but the damage was done in the first period when they went almost 30 minutes without scoring.
Niall Daly and Ciarain Murtagh got the opening two scores of the game but then it was one way traffic with Dublin scoring nine points without reply. Five of those points came from Dean Rock frees, who ended the game with 1-8. The Dublin attacks continued in waves through the half Seán McDermott (pictured above) was harshly black-carded in the 26th minute. Cathal Cregg was also black-carded in the closing minutes of the half for a trip. A Donie Shine point in the last minute of injury time reduced the deficit and meant that Roscommon headed into the break six points behind; 0-9 to 0-3.

Roscommon started the second half much brighter with two points from Ciarain Murtagh either side of one from Donie Shine. Then it was Dublin’s chance to turn the screw again with Dean Rock scoring 1-2 in the space of 13 minutes. That goal re-ignited Roscommon and three minutes later Senan Kilbride flicked a Fintan Cregg free to the back of the net. Both sides then traded points, Murtagh and Donie Shine on the score sheet again.
With five minutes remaining Shane Carthy made it Dublin 1-13 to 1-10 but from then on it was all Roscommon. A point from Ciarain Murthar reduced the lead to two and moments later James McDermott flicked a Fintan Cregg free to the back of the net but it was ruled out for square ball. Conor Devaney made it 1-12 to 1-13 and with moments remaining a free from Ciarain Murtagh went narrowly wide

Roscommon team

1 Darren O’Malley

2 Sean McDermott
3 Neil Collins
4 David Murray

5 David Keenan
6 Sean Purcell
7 Niall McInerney

8 Niall Daly, 0-1
9 Cathal Shine

10 Fintan Cregg 0-1 (1f)
11 Niall Kilroy
12 Ciaran Murtagh 0-5 (0-3f)

13 Donie Shine, 0-3
14 Senan Kilbride, 1-0
15 Cathal Cregg

Subs used:
Sean Mullooly for S McDermott (BC),
Conor Devaney 0-2 for C Cregg (BC),
John McManus for Keenan,
James McDermott for C Shine,
Brian Murtagh for Kilroy,
Thomas Corcoran for D Shine

Elsewhere in the Division the games finished Kerry 0-20 Cork 1-12, Monaghan 1-10 Donegal 1-9, Mayo 1-19 Down 1-16. Those results mean that Roscommon will meet Kerry and Dublin will face Donegal in next weekend’s Semi-Finals. Details of the fixtures will be confirmed tomorrow.

At the other end of the Table Cork and Down have been relegated. They will be replaced by Tyrone and Cavan who have gained promotion to Division One of the Allianz Football League next year.