Joe Murphy North East Roscommon Regional Water Supply

Council successor to Eugene Murphy to be selected tomorrow

Joe Murphy North East Roscommon Regional Water Supply

Updated at 6:40pm

The person who will take the seat vacated by newly elected TD Eugene Murphy will be selected by Fianna Fáil delegates from the Boyle Municipal District at a local Convention in the Tulsk Inn tomorrow.

Earlier this week candidates were expecting to be interviewed for the position by Fianna Fáil General Secretary Seán Dorgan however the party decided (yesterday) to proceed with a Convention.

There has been no confirmation, only plenty of speculation, as to who will contest the Convention:

Deputy Murphy has nominated his brother Joe for the position and has said that he believes his successor should be from the greater Strokestown area, as other areas in the district were well represented at present.

Roscommon town publican Larry Brennan had thrown his hat into the ring, despite living outside the district, but is now believed to have withdrawn.

The nomination of Rooskey native, and Roscommon GAA Assistant Treasurer, Seamus Nugent was confirmed earlier this week.

Aiden Sampey from Ballaghaderreen, who contested the last local election, is also being mentioned at being on the ballot.

Seán Óg Higgins from Ballintubber, who lost out to Deputy Murphy on the party nomination for the General Election, is another name that was discussed in recent weeks, although he lives outside the district.

It is believed that local Fianna Fáil activist James Campbell, from Cortober, was nominated but declined to accept the opportunity.

One thing that is confirmed is that the nominee selected to succeed Eugene Murphy will take their seat at a specially convened meeting of Roscommon County Council on Monday next.