St Michaels Draw Pres

St Michaels GAA News February 14th

St Michaels Draw Pres
St Michaels 2-4 Shannon Gaels 2-14

In the first round of the Tansey Cup St. Michaels were beaten by our neighbours Shannon Gaels last Sunday at Ardcarne Park. This local derby was a competitive contest from the start with St Michaels bagging 2 goals inside the first 10 minutes through Shane Gillespie and Kevin Gilboy. Shannon Gaels clawed their way back into the game through a goal and a couple of quick points to leave the score level at half time St Michaels 2-2 Shannon Gaels 1-5. St Michaels started the second half with a quick point but the crucial score of the game was a goal for Shannon Gaels midway through the second half. This was followed by a couple of quick points to give the win to Shannon Gaels. Final score St Michaels 2-4 Shannon Gaels 2-14.
St. Michaels play away to St. Brigids next Saturday.

Gaelic mothers & others
Following a successful debut, Indoor football for mothers & others continues in the Complex this Tuesday night 16th, at 8.30pm. The rules are modified so all ladies are welcome to come along and try it out, if there is enough interest in the game then hopefully it will continue.

Congratulations to Sorcha Bruen on been awarded player of the year at Shannon Gaels.

The club lotto jackpot is now €5200 and the next draw will take place in Tara Marina on 21/2/16. Ann Cox’s team in charge. Thanks to those who have already come forward to help run our lotto draw. If anyone else would like to help please contact Nuala O’Hara on 086 3974566.

The club is grateful to all it’s sponsors for their generosity and support in the past and the present, if you or your company would like to sponsor us in any way, large or small, we would like to hear from you. Contact any club officer, ring 087 6181248 or email [email protected] .

St Michaels Draw Pres
Picture shows Anthony Beirne accepting his 3rd prize of our recent Fuel Draw, a pallet of briquettes which was sponsored by Hunters Coals. Pictured are from left to right Padraig Hunt, Oliver McKeon, Declan Caslin (Hunter Fuels), Anthony Beirne and Brian Lee.