Independent TDs odds on to be returned to next Dáil


Independent TDs Denis Naughton and Michael Fitzmaurice are odds on to retain their seats in the next General Election according to odds released by Paddy Power.

Meanwhile Fine Gael County Councillor Maura Hopkins is the favourite to take the third and final seats in the new Roscommon-East Galway Constituency. Sitting TDs Naughton and Fitzmaurice are 1/33 and 1/25 respectively while Councillor Hopkins is 2/7.

The nearest contender for the third seat is recently declared Fianna Fail candidate Eugene Murphy at 9/4 while Labour Senator John Kelly and newcomer Claire Kerrane of Sinn Fein are both available at 11/2. Renua’s Anne Farrell is 14/1 while Miriam Hennesy (Green Party) and Eddie Conroy (Anti Austerity Alliance/People Before Profit) are outsiders at 50/1.

It’s widely expected that the election will be called for late February with Friday the 26th being one of the most common dates mooted.